top of page



classic racing dayboat, gracing the river Thames since 1911

Estuary One Design


EOD Essex Yacht Club

Alfred White Memorial Cup – Sunday Points Series 2023

One of the most magnificent and historic trophies in the Essex Yacht Club, this is raced for each season in a series of nine points races on Sundays. If nine races are sailed in the series, the best six results count towards the final total. Any series with multiple races over the duration of a sailing season is a real test of sailing skill, seamanship and boat maintenance. Winds, weather and tides will vary throughout the sailing months, meaning that only helms who can sail well in conditions which range from the lightest breeze to a strong wind will be able to win. The holder of the 2023 trophy is Andrew Carpenter sailing Madrigal.



EOD Championship 2023 

This is also an historic trophy, which dates back to the days of the Essex One Design, the predecessor of the Estuary One Design boat currently sailed. It is a one-off championship race, usually held in June or July starting from the EYC start line, and is always hotly contested. The holder is Andrew Carpenter in Madrigal.



Estuary Championships 2023.

Another great test of sailing skills, this is usually a four race weekend series held in September. Wonderful weather conditions meant champagne sailing with four races being held over two days. It differs from most other EOD racing in that it has a committee boat start and an ‘Olympic’ style course with laid temporary buoys, giving the opportunity for a lot of close action. Andrew Carpenter won this years Championship in Madrigal.



Velsheda Trophy 2023. 

This Interclub Trophy for 18 foot boats is raced for annually at the EYC. The current holder is Andrew Carpenter in Madrigal, who also won the Rickard bowl as the first EYC boat in the 2023 race. There is also a prize for the runner-up, the GWS Beecroft Trophy, which is currently held by Bob Habermel sailing Calypso



John Swann Memorial Trophy 2023. 

This is a trophy in memory of a late class captain who had a great influence on the EOD Class, John Swann. It is a three race series usually held over a bank holiday period. Andrew Carpenter won the series in Madrigal.



Ian Perkin Decanter 2023. 

This is a memorial trophy for a much-loved former class captain. It is a one-off race around an EYC course. Due to adverse weather conditions the race was not held.



Tony Moore Memorial Tea Caddy 2023. 

This is also a trophy competed for in memory of a late class captain as a one-off race around an EYC course. It is unusual in being an antique tea caddy rather than a cup or decanter, a reference to Tony’s working life as a tea trader. The current holder is Andrew Carpenter helming Madrigal.

Turmaine Fitting Out Trophy 2023.

This is a trophy in memory of a late class captain and talented yachtsman Simon Turmaine. It is the first trophy race of the year, however due to bad weather early in the season this years race was held in October. Won in 2023 by Andrew Carpenter in Madrigal.



bottom of page